Innovation network
»Future Meeting Space«

The innovation network “Future Meeting Space” was created by the GCB and the European Association of Event Centres (EVVC) in collaboration with the Fraunhofer Institute for Industrial Engineering IAO. It looks into trends, innovations, and societal developments and their possible influence on the meetings industry.

Research Phase 2

After successfully concluding the first phase of its research in June 2016, the innovation alliance Future Meeting Space launched its second phase in March 2017.

This phase, which will run for one and a half years, is now asking: What are the different types of participants? How are they impacted by the use of different elements of meeting methodology and technology? And how do these elements affect knowledge sharing, learning progress, networking and the experience value of an event for different types of participants (e.g. prosumers and consumers)?

Building on the results of phase 1, a suitable study setup has been created, as well as a catalogue of questions from a user perspective. The goal is to ask participants from all over the world to complete a questionnaire and to report about their experiences with meetings and conferences.

Complete the online survey and you will receive direct feedback on what type of participant you are!

The data will be evaluated and analysed in summer 2018. Options for action will be derived and critical success factors will be identified and presented to the meetings industry in a publication featuring details of the results.

During phase 2 the innovation alliance comprises the consortium leaders – i.e. the German Convention Bureau (GCB) and the European Association of Event Centres (EVVC) – as well as the Fraunhofer Institute of Labour Economics and Organisation (IAO) as the project managers and also the following research partners:

In addition, we have the support of the Education Foundation of the Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA).

Research Phase 1

The innovation alliance Future Meeting Space serves as a platform for its initiators to enter into international competition. The aim is to analyse and systematise developments in the meetings industry and, on that basis, to develop requirements that allow successful meetings. These are technical and organisational requirements as well as any that concern the actual rooms.

The literature and technology research, expert interviews and focus group studies conducted under the research and development work of the first phase, completed in June 2016, provided the basis for a catalogue of innovations. This led to the development of six so-called Future Meeting Scenarios that will impact the meetings industry in the future and which are mirrored on the market. This involved highlighting the areas of society, teaching content and methodology, technology, mobility and infrastructure.

To make the results accessible to the research partners of the innovation alliance as well as to their members and customers, the six scenarios show various forms of future meetings and have led to the development of an interactive scenario called Future Meeting Room at the planning level as well as a description in the form of a Future Meeting Guide. The purpose is to cover the future needs and requirements of participants. A Management Summary has been published, presenting the most important results of the first phase.

RESEARCH RESULTS

The Innovation Catalogue

The results of the research phase will serve as an instruction manual for the design of future-oriented organisational, technological and special future meeting spaces in phase 2 of the project.

Innovation Catalogue

Scenarios

What does the Future of the meetings sector look like? View our infographic with six meeting formats from Interactice Forum to Unplugged Meeting

Infographic

Future Meeting Room

The “Future Meeting Room“ promotes interaction and knowledge transfer. The “Future Meeting Room“ was compiled from the scenarios with the focus on different categories. The objective is to promote interaction and knowledge transfer intensively. Furthermore it aims at bringing together attendees with different backgrounds and objectives as well as actively involving the individual.

Future Meeting Room

Management Summary

The meetings industry is transitioning. Therefore the “Future Meeting Space” project provides specific recommendations for action next to showing future developments and opportunities. The management summary of the “Future Meeting Guide” gives an overview of all results from analysis, expert interviews and focus groups starting from January 2015 to the end of the project phase in June 2016.

 

Management Summary

During phase 1 the innovation alliance consisted of the consortium leaders GCB and EVVC as well as IAO (project management) and the following research partners:

»PROGRESS DEPENDS ON
THE EXCHANGE OF KNOWLEDGE.«

Albert Einstein

 

Press

Contact:

Birgit Pacher
Communications, GCB German Convention Bureau e.V.
Phone: 0049 69 242930-18
E-Mail: pacher@gcb.de

Presskit

1. Press release: Future Meeting Space launches online survey providing participants with instant personal analysis
2. Future Meeting Space Second Project Phase Introduction
3. Infographic: Scenarios for future formats
4. Management Summary Phase 1
5. Press pictures

Photos

Flickr Album Gallery Pro Powered By: Weblizar

A collection of photo material can be find on Flickr.

 

Videos

Seite auswählen

Innovationsverbund
»Future Meeting Space«

Im Innovationsverbund „Future Meeting Space“, den das GCB mit dem Fraunhofer IAO und dem EVVC Europäischer Verband der Veranstaltungs-Centren e. V. initiiert hat, werden derzeitige Entwicklungen in der Veranstaltungsbranche analysiert und systematisiert, um darauf aufbauend technische, organisatorische und räumliche Anforderungen für erfolgreiche Veranstaltungen zu entwickeln.

Phase 2

Nach erfolgreichem Abschluss der Forschungsphase 1 des „Innovationsverbunds „Future Meeting Space“ im Juni 2016, ist im März 2017 die zweite Forschungsphase gestartet.

In der eineinhalb Jahre andauernden Phase werden nun die Fragen untersucht, welche unterschiedlichen Teilnehmertypen es gibt und wie sich die Nutzung unterschiedlicher methodischer und technologischer Elemente bei Veranstaltungen auf Wissensvermittlung, Lernerfolg, Netzwerken und Erlebniswert bei unterschiedlichen Teilnehmertypen (z. B. Prosument, Konsument) auswirkt.

Aufbauend auf den Ergebnissen aus Phase 1 wurde ein geeignetes Studiendesign entworfen und ein Fragenset aus Nutzerperspektive in Form eines Fragenkatalogs entwickelt. Das Ziel ist es weltweit Teilnehmer über Ihre Erfahrungen bei Tagungen und Kongressen über ein Webportal zu befragen. Füllen Sie jetzt den Fragebogen aus und Sie erhalten direkt Feedback zu Ihrem Teilnehmertyp!

Im Sommer 2018 erfolgt die Auswertung und Analyse der Daten. Es werden Handlungsoptionen abgeleitet und kritische Erfolgsfaktoren identifiziert und in einem Ergebnisband der Veranstaltungsbranche präsentiert.

Neben den Konsortialführern GCB und EVVC sowie dem Fraunhofer IAO als Projektbearbeiter besteht der Innovationsverbund der zweiten Phase aus den folgenden Forschungspartnern:

Zusätzlich unterstützt uns die Education Foundation der Professional Convention Management Association (PCMA).

Phase 1

Im Innovationsverbund „Future Meeting Space“ stellen sich die Initiatoren dem internationalen Wettbewerb. Das Ziel ist es, Entwicklungen in der Veranstaltungsbranche zu analysieren und systematisieren, um darauf aufbauend technische, organisatorische und räumliche Anforderungen für erfolgreiche Veranstaltungen zu entwickeln.

Im Rahmen der Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten der ersten Forschungsphase, die im Juni 2016 endete, wurden auf Basis von Literatur- und Technologierecherchen, Experteninterviews und Fokusgruppen ein Innovationskatalog erarbeitet. Daraus wurden sechs sogenannte „Future Meeting Szenarien“ entwickelt, welche die Veranstaltungswirtschaft zukünftig beeinflussen, und am Markt gespiegelt. Hierbei wurden die Bereiche Gesellschaft, Didaktik und Methodik, Technologie, Mobilität und Infrastruktur beleuchtet.

Um den Forschungspartnern des Innovationsverbunds, deren Mitgliedern und Kunden die Ergebnisse zugänglich zu machen, wurden aus den sechs Szenarien zukünftiger Veranstaltungsformen das interaktive Szenario „Future Meeting Room“ auf konzeptioneller Ebene entwickelt und im „Future Meeting Guide“ beschrieben, um künftig auftretende Teilnehmerbedürfnisse und -Anforderungen abdecken zu können. Der Ergebnisband „Management Summary“ präsentiert die wichtigsten Ergebnisse der ersten Forschungsphase.

Forschungsergebnisse

Der Innovationskatalog

Der folgende Innovationskatalog bildet bereits eine Reihe von Trends ab: In der neuen Generation von Tagungs- und Kongressteilnehmern gewinnen zum Beispiel Sharing-Konzepte und die Individualisierung des Konsums an Bedeutung.

Zum Innovationskatalog

Szenarien

Wie sieht die Zukunft der Meetingbranche aus? Unsere Infografik stellt sechs Szenarien zukünftiger Veranstaltungen vor.
Zur Infografik

Future Meeting Room

Der „Future Meeting Room“ fördert Interaktion und Wissensvermittlung. Aus den entwickelten Szenarien wurde der „Future Meeting Room“ entwickelt  und in verschiedenen Kategorien ausgearbeitet. Ziel ist es, die Interaktion und Wissensvermittlung intensiv zu fördern, Teilnehmende mit verschiedenen Hintergründen zusammenzubringen und den Einzelnen aktiv zu beteiligen.
Zum Future Meeting Room

Management Summary

Die Veranstaltungsbranche ist im Umbruch. Das Projekt „Future Meeting Space“ zeigt deshalb nicht nur Entwicklungen und Chancen auf, sondern gibt klare Handlungsempfehlungen. Die Management Summary fasst die von Januar 2015 bis Juni 2016 erhobenen Ergebnisse aus Analysen, Experteninterviews und Fokusgruppen zusammen.
Zur Management Summary

Der Innovationsverbund der ersten Phase bestand aus den Konsortialführern GCB und EVVC, dem Fraunhofer IAO als Projektbearbeiter sowie den folgenden Forschungspartnern:

»DER FORTSCHRITT LEBT
VOM AUSTAUSCH DES WISSENS.«

Albert Einstein

 

Presse

Kontakt:

Birgit Pacher
Communications, GCB German Convention Bureau e.V.
Telefon: 0049 69 242930-18
E-Mail: pacher@gcb.de

Pressekit

1. Pressemeldung: Future Meeting Space:
Zweite Projektphase angelaufen
2. Pressemeldung: Ihre Meinung ist gefragt:
Future Meeting Space startet Umfrage
3. Projektbeschreibung Phase 2
4. Management Summary Phase 1
5. Pressebilder

Fotos

Flickr Album Gallery Pro Powered By: Weblizar

Weitere Bilder finden Sie in unserem Flickr-Album

 

Videos